WTF is a Chakra? | Part One - Unearthed Crystals

WTF is a Chakra? | Part One


Ever had someone brazenly tell you that it seems like one of your chakras might be out of balance?


Most people have at least heard of chakras.  Whether it’s something you read on a sign outside a psychic’s or learned from your yoga teacher, the study of chakras, while undeniably considered “new age-y”, is certainly nothing new.  Based on Ayurvedic teachings and other European traditions, the study of charkas originated in India over 2000 years ago. 


Knowing how to keep your chakras in balance is a very positive - if not crucial - aspect of self-care where all things life are concerned.


So what the hell is a Chakra?


We’re going to try to keep this simple!  Learning about chakras can be overwhelming at first, especially if you really have no effing clue what they are!


But, not knowing what chakras are is a lot like not knowing that your heart has a left and right ventricle and atrium.  Just because most of us are unaware of how these things work or what exactly they do, doesn’t mean they don’t exist and are there for a reason.


Chakras are energy centres along your spine. There are seven main chakras, beginning with the root chakra (base of your spine), sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and finishing with the crown chakra (at the top of your head).  People who study chakras believe that these energy wheels connect our mind, body and spirit.  Understanding the chakras helps us to understand the full spectrum of our basic needs, that to be a fulfilled human being we need a whole lot more than just food, water and air.


​In a nutshell, the idea is, when you understand what each of the chakras relates to, and work to bring yourself and your chakras into balance (Yes, I said work.  No magic fix here), you'll reach a sense of totality and wholeness that leaves you feeling pretty damn well put together.


OK, what does it mean if one of my chakras is “out of balance”?


Well, each of these seven energy centres (or chakras) is associated with specific organs, endocrine systems, emotional reactions, and spiritual concerns and if there is a blockage, energy can’t flow. Think of the drain in your bathtub. If you let too much hair to go into the drain, the bathtub will back up with water, stagnate and will eventually grow mould and bacteria.  And so it is with our bodies and the chakras. 


If one of your chakras is overactive or underactive (blocked), you can experience telling physical or emotional symptoms.  It could be anything from avoiding change, to being tired AF, to feeling hella anxious in social situations.


Each chakra also has healing crystals and balancing chakra stones aligned to it.  Crystals are super useful because they are tangible, they are physical forms that have powerful vibrations. Their energy continues to connect with you when you wear them close skin or place them in your environment.


With every thought and intention, these crystals pick up on your unique vibrational energy and can work to amplify the positive vibes you are cultivating as you heal.  Chakra work is intense but has the power to help you transform into the divine being you are meant to be.


For a brief description, read on.  But, once you discover which chakras you want to focus your attention on, stay tuned for our in-depth series coming over the next few weeks on choosing the right crystals to re-balance and open each chakra.



Which crystals are associated with the seven chakras?


The root chakra, located at the base of the spine/pelvic floor is responsible for feelings of safety, security, or basic needs.  The root chakra’s colour is red (other colours associated with the root chakra are black brown and grey). Crystals associated with healing this chakra include Hematite, Black Tourmaline, Red Jasper and Smokey Quartz. 


Our second chakra, known as the sacral chakra, is responsible for sexual energy as well as creativity.  The sacral chakra’s colour is orange. Chakra stones like Tiger’s Eye, Sunstone and Carnelian help to bring the system into balance.


The solar plexus chakra is in our navel area and is responsible for our self-esteem and feelings of power and commitment.  The solar plexus chakra’s colour is yellow.  Yellow gemstones such as Amber, Pyrite or Citrine can help heal this chakra.


Found at the centre of our chest, our heart chakra is responsible for playing a vital role in our lungs and endocrine system. This is also responsible for our feelings of love.  The heart chakra’s colours are green and pink.  Green or pink stones such as Rose Quartz, Jade and Green Aventurine can help heal this chakra.


The throat chakra is responsible for allowing us to speak our inner truth and located (unsurprisingly) in our throat. The throat chakra’s colour is aqua or turquoise (secondary colours are various shades of lighter blues). Chakra stones like Turquoise, Blue Lace Agate, Aquamarine or Sodalite balance this chakra.


Located between our eyebrows, the third eye chakra is responsible for intuition and allowing us to see the outside world.  The brow chakra’s colour is indigo or shades of dark blue. Chakra stones like Lapis Lazuli, Amethyst or Fluorite complement this area.


The crown chakra, located at the top of our head is responsible for enlightenment and connection to our higher selves.  The crown chakra’s colour is purple and the secondary colour is clear or white.  Stones that can help open this chakra include Clear Quartz, Amethyst, and Moonstone.

SHOP || Chakra Antidote  Box

           || All Chakra Products


Leave a comment